an der Universität Augsburg

Bucovina Institute at Augsburg University

The Institute, that from the year 2003 has the status of Institute at Augsburg University, a document given by the Bavarian State Ministry for Science, Research and Art, was founded în the 1988, at the initiative of the then President of the region, Dr. Georg Simnacher, as a ‘place of  research  for the history and culture of Bucovina’.  The region of Bucovina, of which the Northern half, with the capital of Cernauti, is part of todays country of Ukraine, and the Southern half with the capital of Suceava, a county in Romania, was part of the Habsburg Empire from 1774 until the end of the Ist World War. Once the Iron Curtain fell, from 1989, the duties of the Institute have intensified and extended,  including several domains related to regions of Eastern, Central and South-East Europe.

Today, with the financial suppport of an association from the Bavarian Ministry of Labour, Social order, Family and Women as well as the support of Schwaben region, the Institute ofers the following  facilities:

  • Acces to a network of library services from Eastern, Central and South-East Europe, specialized in Bucovina related themes through a reference collection and a borrowing service.
  • Conferences, lectures, exhibits, publications and field trips in colaboration with the FORUMOST center of the Faculty of Literature and History, from Augsburg University.
  • Foreign languages courses: polish, romanian, russian, cech, hungarian, and ucrainian, in collaboration with the Language Centre of Augsburg University.
  • After-school for students in primary schools, that come from immigrant families.

 

A big share of the achievements and services provided by the Institute represent the proof of a tight collaboration with the following  institutions:

  • Augsburg University, through the various services provided (FORUMOST, the Language Center, University Library)
  • European bureau of Schwaben region
  • Universities from Bucovina: Chernivtsi (Cernauti) University în Ukraine and Stefan cel Mare University from Suceava, as well as partnerships between Bukovina Institute from Augsburg and Bukowina Insitute from Cernauti (Ukraine) and Radauti (Romania).
  • Other educational and administrative establishments of the city of Augsburg or Schwaben region

an der Universität Augsburg

Das Bukowina-Institut an der Universität Augsburg

Das Institut, dem die Rechtsstellung eines Instituts an der Universität Augsburg 2003 vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst verliehen wurde, war 1988 auf Initiative des damaligen Bezirkstagspräsidenten Dr. Georg Simnacher als „Arbeitsstelle zur Erforschung von Geschichte und Kultur der Bukowina“ gegründet worden. Die historische Landschaft Bukowina, deren nördliche Hälfte mit der Hauptstadt Czernowitz heute Teil der Ukraine ist und deren südlicher Teil mit der Hauptstadt Suceava einen Bezirk Rumäniens bildet, gehörte von 1774 bis Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs zu Österreich. Insbesondere seit der Öffnung des „Eisernen Vorhangs“ 1989 haben sich die Aufgaben des Instituts mehr und mehr auf Themen im Zusammenhang mit weiteren ost-, ostmittel- und südosteuropäischen Regionen ausgeweitet.

Heute stellt das von einem Trägerverein unterhaltene und vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Arbeit, Sozialordnung, Familie und Frauen sowie vom Bezirk Schwaben finanziell unterstützte Institut vor allem folgende Einrichtungen und Angebote bereit:

  • eine an das Servicenetz der Universitätsbibliothek angeschlossene, auf Ost-, Ostmittel- und Südosteuropa, insbesondere auf Bukowina-Themen spezialisierte, Bibliothek mit Präsenzbeständen und Ausleihdienst
  • Tagungen, Vorträge, Ausstellungen, Publikationen und Studienreisen, teils in Zusammenarbeit mit der Arbeitsstelle FORUMOST der Philologisch-Historischen Fakultät der Universität Augsburg
  • in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Sprachenzentrum der Universität Augsburg Sprachkurse in Polnisch, Rumänisch, Russisch, Tschechisch, Ungarisch und Ukrainisch
  • Hausaufgabenbetreuung für Grundschüler aus Zuwandererfamilien

Einen Großteil seiner Leistungen und Dienste erbringt das Institut in enger Kooperation mit folgenden Institutionen:

  • diversen Einrichtungen der Universität Augsburg (insbesondere FORUMOST, Sprachenzentrum und Universitätsbibliothek)
  • dem Europabüro des Bezirks Schwaben
  • den Bukowiner Universitäten Czernowitz (Ukraine) und Suceava (Rumänien) sowie den mit dem Augsburger Bukowina-Institut partnerschaftlich verbundenen Bukowina-Instituten in Czernowitz und Radautz
  • weiteren Bildungseinrichtungen und Institutionen der Stadt Augsburg und der Region Schwaben


Alter Postweg 97a
86159 Augsburg

Tel.: 0821/577067
Fax: 0821/582607
E-Mail: info@bukowina-institut.de

Archiv

Kategorien